February 2015 is Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month

February 21: Join AAUW and the Potsdam Public Library for a DiscoverE Hour of Code activity from 3:30 to 4:30 pm. More information and to sign up from Sarah Sachs, Youth Services Librarian, Potsdam Public Library, or call 265-7230.

February 22-28: Engineers Week

February 26: Girl Day - Introduce a Girl to Engineering Day during DiscoverE

February 23 - 27: Higher Education National Week of Action - to engage student governments and groups, national and state partners, and individuals that still believe public colleges and universities - and the millions of students they educate - are worth investing in.

March is Women's History Month

March is Women's History Month: "Weaving the Stories of Women's Lives" is the theme for National Women's History Month 2015. The theme presents the opportunity to weave women's stories - individually and collectively - into the essential fabric our nation's history. Accounts of the lives of individual women are critically important because they reveal exceptionally strong role models who share a more expansive vision of what a woman can do. The stories of women's lives, and the choices they made, encourage girls and young women to think larger and bolder, and give boys and men a fuller understanding of the female experience. Knowing women's achievements challenges stereotypes and upends social assumptions about who women are and what women can accomplish today.

March 8: International Women's Day

March 9-20: Commission on the Status of Women 59th session "Beijing +20"

March 17 (10-6) and March 18 (10-5 pm): AAUW & Suny Canton present the 14th annual Professional Clothing Fair in the Dana Hall Intramural Gym at SUNY Canton. "Gently used" or new clothing and accessories will be available for free, thanks to the generous donations from many North Country organizations and people. Drop clothes off there from March 13-17 from 12 noon to 5 pm.

March 21: International Day for the Elimination of Racial Discrimination

March 25: Branch Board meeting at Clarkson University's Clarkson Snell Hall room 346 at 4:30 pm. All members are welcome.

April 2015 (Sexual Assault Awareness Month):

April 14: Equal Pay Day

April 12-18: International Anti-Street Harassment Week organized by the National Sexual Violence Resource Center.

April 13-17: National Robotics Week

April 17-19: AAUW-NYS Convention at Byblos Niagara Resort, Grand Island

April 22: Earth Day

May 28–30: Nominate a Student for Our Leadership Conference - Registration is open for the National Conference for College Women Student Leaders. Tell the students in your life to sign up for this inspiring skill-building event.

Contact the Branch Program VP, Tina Flannagan, for more information about any of these events.

The 2015 National Women's History Month Honorees

The theme for National Women's History Month (NWHM) 2015 is "Weaving the Stories of Women's Lives."

The 2015 (NWHM) Honorees were chosen for their pioneering leadership and accomplishments in researching and sharing the stories of women's lives. Their achievements - individually and collectively - have been essential in weaving the amazing and courageous stories of women's lives into the fundamental fabric of our nation's history.

St. Lawrence County Branch Home - Site Map